NASS leadership to be determined by LP this weekend

NASS leadership to be determined by LP this weekend

1 minute, 31 seconds Read

NASS leadership to be determined by LP this weekend

NASS leadership to be determined by LP this weekend. The Labour Party will make a decision on who to support as presiding officers of the National Assembly this weekend, according to National Chairman Barrister Julius Abure.

Abure spoke while Abia Governor Alex Otti urged the party’s elected members to work for their constituents and provide them with the benefits of democracy.

The individuals attended a meeting with Senators and members-elect to determine which candidates to endorse for the upcoming leadership.

Otti told them about the meeting with President Bola Ahmed Tinubu before meeting with them as a family.
He urged the elected members to prioritize the needs of their constituents and ensure they receive the benefits of democracy.

Abute updated the Governor on the ongoing meetings to determine which candidates to support for the 10th NASS. A decision is expected to be made by Friday or Saturday.
We have been having these meetings for a while. The speaker’s party held frequent meetings after being elected to improve unity and voting as a cohesive group.

We have regularly held this meeting to improve our performance as members-elect. Mr. Peter Obi, our presidential candidate, has participated in four or five meetings.

The APC’s choice of the NASS leadership has, however, drawn criticisms and condemnation from other contestants for the principal positions of the National Assembly.

Recall that the All Progressives Congress, APC, chose Godswill Akpabio from the South-South zone and Senator Jubrin Barau from the North West zone as Senate president and deputy president respectively.

It also anointed Tajudeen Abass from the North West and Benjamin Kalu from the South East as Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Senator Ali Ndume revealed that Senator Godswill Akpabio is the preferred candidate of President Bola Tinubu for the position of President of the 10th Senate.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *