First Lady OF Nigeria to host Super Falcons

First Lady OF Nigeria to host Super Falcons

2 minutes, 13 seconds Read

First Lady OF Nigeria to host Super Falcons

Remi Tinubu, First Lady of Nigeria

First Lady OF Nigeria to host Super Falcons. The First Lady, Oluremi Tinubu, and other top government officials will attend the Super Falcons’ send-off dinner before the team departs for the FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The FIFA Women’s World Cup will be held over the course of one month, from July 20 to August 20.

According to a statement issued by the NFF’s Head of Communications on Thursday, Ademola Olajire, the dinner would be hosted on Saturday at the Transcorp Hilton Hotel in Abuja.

“We expect Ismaila Abubakar, Permanent Secretary in the Federal Ministry of Sports and Youth Development, as well as other top sports officials.”

“A large number of team members, as well as technical and administrative officials, are expected to join the ranks of the NFF, led by President Ibrahim Musa Gusau and General Secretary Mohammed Sanusi.”

“The event at the Transcorp Hilton Hotel will also draw corporate executives, diplomats, and a variety of football stakeholders.”

“On Sunday, the nine-time African champions will depart Nigeria for a 15-day camping program in Australia before entering camp for the tournament, which will take place from July 20 to August 20,” Olajire explained.

Nigeria’s first encounter of the finals is against Canada on July 21 at Melbourne’s Rectangular Stadium, followed by matches against Australia and the Republic of Ireland at Lang Park in Brisbane on July 27 and July 31, respectively.

According to NAN, the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup finals in Australia and New Zealand will be the largest-ever FIFA Women’s World Cup finals in history, with 32 teams—the same number that competed in the men’s finals in Qatar last year.

It is also the first FIFA senior competition to be held by two countries, as well as the first to be hosted by two nations from different confederations: Australia in the Asian confederation and New Zealand in Oceania.

Nigeria’s captain, Onome Ebi, will be one of the tournament’s oldest players, at 40, along with Brazil’s Marta and Canada’s Christine Sinclair.

The three women will compete in their sixth FIFA Women’s World Cup.

According to the NFF, the Australian High Commission will host the Falcons to a supper 24 hours before the Send-Forth at the Transcorp Hilton, courtesy of the Ag. High Commissioner, Her Excellency Leanne Johnston.

According to NAN, the Super Falcons are in Group ‘B’ with Australia, Canada, and the Republic of Ireland.

At the FIFA World Cup, Nigeria has previously faced the Canadian and Australian women’s national teams.

Canada has never defeated Nigeria in the World Cup, drawing 3-3 in 1995 and losing 1-0 in 2011.

Nigeria’s 2015 FIFA World Cup match against Australia concluded in a 2-0 victory for the Australians.



Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *