Nigerian Presidents who have chaired ECOWAS

Nigerian Presidents who have chaired ECOWAS

0 minutes, 57 seconds Read

Nigerian Presidents who have chaired ECOWAS

President Bola Tinubu

Nigerian Presidents who have chaired ECOWAS. On 29 May 2023, Bola Tinubu was sworn in as President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the 16th head of state after winning the general election. Over the weekend, President Bola Tinubu was chosen Chairman of the Economic Community of West African States Authority of Heads of State and Government.

Tinubu, who attended the 63rd Ordinary Session of the West African Leaders Forum for the first time, was formally elected Chairman in Bissau, Guinea-Bissau.

Tinubu succeeded President Umaro Sissoco Embaló of Guinea-Bissau as the leader of the sub-regional political and economic body.

Tinubu will be responsible for guiding the ECOWAS member states toward economic growth, political stability, and cooperation in his capacity as chairman.

Tinubu, however, is not the first Nigerian president to be appointed as chairman of the sub-regional African body.

Here is a list of Nigerian Presidents who have presided over ECOWAS and the length of time they have done so:

1: Sani Abacha – (27 July 1996 – 8 June 1998)

2: Abdulsalami Abubakar – (9 June 1998 – 1999)

3: Umaru Musa Yar’Adua – (19 December 2008 – 18 February 2010)

4: Goodluck Jonathan – (18 February 2010 – 17 February 2012)

5: Muhammadu Buhari – (31 July 2018 – 29 June 2019)

6: Bola Ahmed Tinubu of Nigeria (9 July 2023 till date).

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *