Appeal court establishes by-election petition tribunal

Appeal court establishes by-election petition tribunal

1 minute, 14 seconds Read

Appeal court establishes by-election petition tribunal

Court of Appeal President, Justice Monica Dongban-Mensen.


Appeal court establishes by-election petition tribunal.

In anticipation of the by-elections in Lagos and Oyo states on Saturday, Justice Monica Dongban-Mensem, the president of the Court of Appeal, has established a tribunal to consider petitions.

throughout 575 registration areas and 8,934 polling units, the Independent National Electoral Commission held by-elections and rerun polls in 80 local government districts throughout 26 states.

Due to the resignations or passing of state and national assembly members, the courts ordered repeat polls during the by-elections.

Saki West State Constituency and Surulere Federal Constituency were the two constituencies in Lagos and Oyo states where elections were held.

On Monday, Ibrahim Usman, the tribunal secretary, announced that the panel will convene at the Roseline Omotosho Courthouse in Ikeja, Lagos.

“Members of the public area are advised to contact the tribunal’s registry at the aforementioned venue with any inquiries,” he stated.

Fuad Laguda of the All Progressives Congress defeated Jerry Afemighie of the Peoples Democratic Party, who received 278 votes, to win the Surulere Federal Constituency 1 by-election with a total of 11,2023 votes.

Adeola Adebanjo, the candidate for the Labour Party, received 240 votes.

In the meantime, the results of the rerun election held in the Saki West State Constituency were announced, with Ibrahim Shittu of the APC emerging victorious.

In the reconducted election, which took place in a few of the constituency’s polling places, Shittu received 13,850 votes. Julius Okedoyin of the PDP, who was his strongest opponent, received 13, 670 votes.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *